SAIL Hockey Academy crowned champions

HAR Hockey Academy finish second, hosts SNBP Academy third

SAIL Hockey Academy crowned champions
SAIL Hockey Academy with the trophy

PUNE: SAIL Hockey Academy, Odisha lifted the 5th SNBP All-India Hockey Tournament (Boys’ Under-16) title at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex, Mhalunge-Balewadi, on Monday.

In the final, the Odisha team's dominating performance put aside HAR Hockey Academy, Sonepat 2-0.

The winners netted their first goal through a brilliant finish by Ritik Kujur (19th) who beat the HAR Hockey Academy goalkeeper Ankit to lead at the halfway stage.

Later, on the changeover Mukesh Tete (54th) did well to convert a penalty corner to make it 2-0. The match thereon was played on level terms with Karan Lakra missing by a whisker twice for Odisha.

Players of SAIL Hockey Academy (Green and Black) and HAR Hockey Academy, Sonepat (Blue) in action

Earlier, hosts SNBP Academy bagged third place with a brilliant sign-off performance beating Regional Development Centre, Jharkhand 6-1. The architect of the victory was Fahad Khan’s three-goal effort. Fahad (4th) opened the scoring and helped SNBP Academy lead at the halfway stage.

Changing ends, Zaid Mohammed Khan (32nd) made it 2-0, Arun Pal (36th) swelled the lead to 3-0, then Avanish Singh (40th) converted a penalty-stroke to help SNBP Academy take an unassailable 4-0 lead. Fahad (41st and 47th) completed the tally to complete a comprehensive win.

Players of Regional Development Center, Jharkhand (Yellow and Black) and SNBP Academy, Pune (Orange) in action

The prizes were given away at the hands of Dr. Dhanraj Pillay Padmashree, in the presence of Dr. Vrishali Bhosale, President SNBP Group of Institutes; Adv. Rutuja Bhosale, Director SNBP Group; Firoz Shaikh, Tournament Convener and Vibhakar Telore, Organising Secretary.     


Final: SAIL Hockey Academy, Odisha: 2 (Ritik Kujur 19th; Mukesh Tete 54th) bt HAR Hockey Academy, Sonepat: 0

III-Place: SNBP Academy, Pune:  6 (Fahad Khan 4th, 41st, 47th; Zaid Mohammed Khan 32nd; Arun Pal 36th; Avanish Singh 40th) bt Regional Development Centre, Jharkhand: 1 (Philip Guriya 50th).


Best Goalkeeper: Rahul Pal (SNBP Academy, Pune)

Best Defender: Rohan Singh (SNBP Academy, Pune)

Best Half: Mukesh Tete (SAIL Hockey Academy)

Best Forward: Sahil Ruhal (HAR Hockey Academy)

Player of the Tournament: Ekka Anmol Jr (SAIL Hockey Academy)