Mehlawat, Chawla, Venkatesh, Rajeshwaran in line for double crown

The event is being held at GA Ranade Tennis complex in Mumbai

Mehlawat, Chawla, Venkatesh, Rajeshwaran in line for double crown
The doubles winners and runners-up pose for a picture.

Ojas Mehlawat, Aarav Chawla,  Harithashree Venkatesh and Maaya Rajeshwaran placed themselves in line for a coveted reaching the finals in the boys and girls event and claiming the doubles title at the 15th MSLTA Ramesh Desai Memorial  Junior Tennis Nationals for Boys and Girls under 12 being hosted by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) at their GA Ranade Tennis complex.

In the semifinals played today second-seeded Aarav Chawla of Haryana stopped the winning run of  Maharashtra’s Amogh Damle 6-4, 6-1, third-seeded Delhi lad  Ojas Mehlawat  put halt to a good run of Maharashtra’s Ayush Poojary 6-4, 6-2 in the second semifinal

Top-seeded Ojas Mehlawat and Aarav Chawla outplayed second seeds  Prateek Sheoran and Rudra Batham 6-1, 6-0 to win the doubles title

In the girl's semifinals second-seeded Maaya Rajeshwaran of Tamil Nadu rallied past fifth-seeded Maharashtra player Prisha Shinde 6-0, 6-3 she will now take on third-seeded Harithashree Venkatesh of Karnataka who blanked out Maharashtra’s Mehak Kapoor 6-1, 6-1.

In the girls' doubles finals, top-seeded pair of Harithashree Venkatesh and Maaya Rajeshwaran outplayed Snigdha Kanta and GD Meghana 6-0, 6-1 to win the title.

The prizes were given away at the hands of Mr Khushrow Shroff, Hon Secretary of Wodehouse Gymkhana, Mumbai. Mr.Manoj Vaidya, tournament director and CEO of MSLTA, AITA Supervisor Sonal Vaidya and Vaishali Shekatkar were present on the occasion.

 Results: Singles: Semifinal(Main Draw) Round: Boys:

Ojas Mehlawat(Del)(3) bt Ayush Poojary(Mah)6-4, 6-2;

Aarav Chawla(Har)(2) bt Amogh Damle(Mah)(14) 6-4, 6-1;


Harithashree Venkatesh(Kar)(3) bt Mehak Kapoor(Mah) 6-1, 6-1;

Maaya Rajeshwaran(TN)(2) bt Prisha Shinde(Mah)(5) 6-0, 6-3;

Doubles: Semifinal Round: Girls:

Harithashree Venkatesh/Maaya Rajeshwaran(1) bt Prisha Shinde/Neelakshi Lather(3) 5-7, 7-6(1), 10-6;

Snigdha Kanta/GD Meghana bt Hritika Kaple/Aradhya Verma 6-0, 6-2;

Final Round: Harithashree Venkatesh/Maaya Rajeshwaran(1) bt  Snigdha Kanta/GD Meghana 6-0, 6-1;

Boys: Semifinal Round:

Ojas Mehlawat/Aarav Chawla(1) bt Shlok Chauhan/Dev Patel 6-1, 6-1;

Prateek Sheoran/Rudra Batham(2) bt Dhron Suresh/Tavish Pahwa(4) 6-0, 6-1;

Final Round: Ojas Mehlawat/Aarav Chawla(1) bt  Prateek Sheoran/Rudra Batham(2) 6-1, 6-0.