Australia end on a high, finish third

Beat Afghanistan by two wickets at Antigua

Australia end on a high, finish third

ANTIGUA: Nivethan Radhakrishnan's all-round effort propelled Australia to third place in the ICC Under 19 Men's Cricket World Cup with a two-wicket victory over Afghanistan.

The ambidextrous all-rounder took 3/31 as Afghanistan batted first, limiting them to 201 all out, before scoring a half-century in the chase. Australia was made to sweat, but they eventually won with five balls to spare.

Afghanistan won the toss and opted to bat at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua and Barbuda, looking to improve on their previous best result in this competition — fourth in 2018.

However, two early wickets for William Salzmann (3-43), who dismissed Nangeyalia Kharote and Allah Noor, reduced Afghanistan's score to 15 for two.

Mohammad Ishaq (34) and skipper Suliman Shafi (37) began to rebuild, adding 70 runs before the former was run out by Salzmann and the latter was caught by Radhakrishnan three balls later.

Ijaz Ahmad Ahmadzai took over the baton and made 81 as wickets continued to fall around him before being the ninth man to fall as Salzmann's final victim with the score at 201.

Cooper Connolly (2-30) finished off the innings with his second wicket in the fourth over, leaving Australia with a comfortable 202-run target.

Campbell Kellaway (51) and Teague Wyllie (13) put up a half-century stand for the first wicket before the latter was dismissed by Nangeyalia, bringing Radhakrishnan to the crease.

He and Kellaway added another 60 before Noor Ahmad dismissed both Kellaway and Connolly in quick succession.

Isaac Higgins joined Radhakrishnan, scoring 11 in a 40-run partnership, but when both were dismissed with 35 needed, jitters began to show.

Lachlan Shaw (13) and Corey Miller (13) contributed 26 to push Australia to the brink before three quick wickets gave Afghanistan hope.

They pushed it to the final over, but Australia's Joshua Garner (four not out) held his nerve.


3 - Australia
4 - Afghanistan
5 - Pakistan
6 - Sri Lanka
7 - South Africa
8 - Bangladesh
9 – United Arab Emirates
10 – Ireland
11 – West Indies
12 – Zimbabwe
13 – Uganda
14 – Scotland
15 – Canada
16 – PNG

Edited - SportsAction / Inputs - Agency