Ankur Mittal wins trap title

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (51) finished 133rd

Ankur Mittal wins trap title

PATIALA: Ankur Mittal, a former double trap world champion, won the men's trap title at the national shooting championships 2021 in shotgun events on Thursday at Patiala's New Moti Bagh Gun Club.

Ankur Mittal, representing ONGC, shot 43 in the final to beat Rajasthan's Aditya Bharadwaj, who took silver with 40 hits. Rayyan Rizvi of Uttar Pradesh took bronze with a score of 33 in the final round.

Ankur Mittal, the reigning world champion in double trap, finished third in the qualification round with a score of 117 out of 125, which was topped by veteran shooter Zoravar Sandhu, who fired 119.

Kynan Chenai, a Rio Olympian, and Lakshay Sheoran, a silver medalist at the 2018 Asian Games, finished 10th and 11th, respectively. According to Sportstar, former world champion Manavjit Singh Sandhu, who also competed in the 2004 Olympics, finished 35th.

Anwer Sultan, a former Asian champion who competed in the Sydney 2000 Olympics, finished 40th, ahead of Athens Olympian Mansher Singh, who finished 41st.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, now 51, an Olympic silver medalist, also took part. He came in 133rd place.

Bandhvi Singh of Madhya Pradesh won gold in the women's 50m prone event at the rifle nationals in Bhopal. She won with a score of 626.

Edited - SportsAction / Inputs - Agency