Adonis shows class in Elite men

Maharashtra state MTB cyclists impress

Adonis shows class in Elite men

PUNE: Last year’s ‘Best Cyclist’ Khariksing Adonis Tangpu of Manipur was at his best once again with a dominating performance on the opening day of the 18th MTB (Mountain Terrain Bike) Mountain Bike National Championship at Alandi-Pune, here on Friday.

The other states to open first place accounts were Uttrakhand and Karnataka, while host’s Mahasahtra had three podium finishers - Kolhapur-lad Siddhesh Ghorpade,  Jalgaon lass Akansha Mehtre and Pune-born Shravani Parit

The championship organised and organised by the Cycling Association of Maharashtra, under the aegis of Cycling Federation of India, saw Adonis top the Elite Men Individual Time Trial event. Using his international experience to the fullest, Adonis completed the 30 kilometers distance (6 lap) race clocking 1 hour 26 minutes 48.417s.

 Adonis, hailing from Peh Village, Ukhrul, was followed by Kamlesh Rana representing Army Adventure Wing who stopped the clock at 1:26:59.212s, while Himachal Pradesh’s Devender Kumar finished third with 1:27:31.646s.

The day saw Uttrakhand and Karnataka bag the other two top spots of the day.

In the Youth Boys Individual Time Trial, Shivansh Sah (Uttrakhand) topped the 10 kilometer (2 lap) race with a 25 minutes 57.003-second effort, which was way ahead of the second-placed Savion Sabu of Karnataka (26:04.013s) and Maharashtra’s Siddhesh Ghorpade (26:46.025s).

Later, in the Youth Girls section, Karnataka’s Gayatri Kittur dominated and crossed the finish line with a time of 25 minutes 03.279s. Maharashtra cyclists followed in with Akansha Mehtre (29:52.997s) and Shravani Parit (30:03.167s) finishing second and third respectively.


Elite Men; Individual Time Trial:

  1. Khariksing Adonis Tangpu (Manipur) 1 hour 26 minutes 48.417s
  2. Kamlesh Rana (Army Adventure Wing) 1:26:59.212s
  3. Devender Kumar (Himachal Pradesh) 1:27:31.646s
  4. Prakash Thapa Magar(Army Adventure Wing) 1:28:17.043s
  5. David Kumar (Himachal Pradesh) 1:34:21.001s
  6. K Kirankumar Raju (Karnataka) 1:34:35.905s    

Youth Boys: Individual Time Trial

Siddhesh Ghorpade

  1. Shivansh Sah (Uttrakhand) 25 minutes 57.003s
  2. Savion Sabu (Karnataka) 26:04.013s
  3. Siddhesh Ghorpade (Maharashtra) 26:46.025s
  4. Arman Dua (Chandigarh) 27:01.407s
  5. Tanzin Bodh (Himachal Pradesh) 27:59.705s
  6. Dhanush Prashanth (Karnataka) 28:33.315s

Youth Girls: Individual Time Trial


Akansha Mehtre                                      Shravani Parit

  1. Gayatri Kittur (Karnataka) 25 minutes 03.279s
  2. Akansha Mehtre (Maharashtra) 29:52.997s
  3. Shravani Parit (Maharashtra) 30:03.167s
  4. Avani Dariyal (Uttrakhand) 33:01.591
  5. Rutu Bhamare (Maharashtra) 33:11.526s
  6. Chaya Nagashetti (Karnataka) 36:36.830s.